Your Best Spray Tan


Hey guys, happy Friday! I hope you’re all looking forward to lovely weekends. I have a lot to look forward to as today me and Elliott have the day off & its a cheat meal night! Give me all the pizza!

Anywho, I thought I’d share a few tips on how to get your best spray tan today as its that time of year where you might want a tan. I am a huge promoter for safe sun as it can lead to skin damage, aging, and cancer (yuck!) I use SPF daily and am naturally fair skinned so a nice spray is a must for me. You can go to a professional or purchase your own mist for at home application. I prefer sprays or mists as mousses and lotions in my opinion can be a little sticky & are more difficult to get hard to reach places.

Here are my tips.

Before.

  • Exfoliate. Getting rid of your top layer of (dead) skin cells is key to a good tan. First off it makes your skin “glow” as dead skin absorbs light to appear dull. Secondly, it will help you get an even tan as patches of rough skin can take in too much product causing blotches. Lastly, your product will absorb fully as opposed to sitting on the surface giving you longer lasting color.
  • Epilate. Any shaving or waxing should be done before tanning. This is in part because it will help with exfoliation (see above) and also because if you shave after spray tanning are literally shaving your tan away. No thanks. Just make sure to do this a day before applying product as open pores from shaving/waxing can get irritated by tanning products.
  • Moisturize. Freshly moisturized skin will pick up the most even color. Not only will you look more radiant but your color will have something to grab on to.

During. 

  • Wear gloves. If your self tanner comes with gloves or mitts use them! It will help avoid streaky palms which are a tell tale sign of a fake tan.
  • Check your surroundings. Many aeresol sprays will get everywhere so I reccomend applying in the bathtub/shower region or at least put down a towel and avoid spraying near furniture (or anything white).
  • Spray an even application. Most people don’t know that you can’t add too much product because there is only a preset amount of color molecules per bottle. That means using extra product doesn’t = extra color, it means a more even application. So don’t be afraid to add a little extra product if it means reaching every part of your body.
  • Blend. Okay, so you chose a spray formula but half your arm is over saturated and the other is barely misted. Get out those gloves and rub the product in circles. 
  • Double check. When you think you’re done make sure to double check commonly missed areas like the back, neck, and feet. 

  After

  • Wait a second. Before putting on clothes or slipping into bed make sure you’re completly dry as bronzers in sprays can easily transfer to sheets and other articles of clothing. In a pinch? Wear black.
  • Damage control. Okay so you’re streaky, or you hate the color… No worries. You can erase color by extra exfoliation in the shower, you can even add lemon juice to your scrub assuming you don’t have any skin irritations.
  • Avoid water. This is the most important part because most products are water soluable and will leave white streaky patches upon contact. 

And that’s all I have! Anything I missed? Leave it in the comments 
Xo, Miranda πŸ’•

13 Comments Add yours

  1. We’ve tried this brand and really enjoy their products. We’ll have to give this a go! xx, Britta & Carli from http://twinspiration.co/

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes its my first time trying it but I love it so far! Thanks for stopping by!!! πŸ˜€πŸ˜€

      Like

  2. Great review Miranda, thanks for the step by step, Have a lovely weekend , huggs Terri xo.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you sweetie you too! ❀❀

      Like

  3. I’ve got to be honest, I used a spray tan once, and it didn’t turn out amazing. πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚ However, I didn’t do a lot of things that you suggested in this blog. I’m definitely going to give it another shot. I enjoyed this blog post! Feel free to check out my most recent post too!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks for stopping by love, I definitely will! And yes I like that it smells good and sprays nice but I found it didn’t develop great color :/ you’re not alone lol

      Liked by 1 person

  4. I am going to send you photo and i thought of you immediately , It is very close to you anyway. It was at an aqquaintance of mine house, Huggs, Terri xoxo

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hahaha I loved It!! Such a perfect match πŸ™‚

      Like

      1. I thought you might Miranda haha, Hugs, Terri xoxo.

        Liked by 1 person

  5. This was really useful! I always use mousse fake tans but this was handy to know for when I buy my next one! xxx

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes I like the mousses but find them to be a little sticky !! I prefer a spray because they dry instantly! Thanks for stopping by πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Mackenzie says:

    Ooooo girl, I NEED this right now! thank you tonssss for the suggestion. ❀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. ❀❀ you’re welcome!! I figured this time of year everyone needs a little tan love hahah

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

