Product Review:YSL Black Opium Parfum

large (1)

Hi. My name is Miranda, and I am a perfume aholic. Really though, I’m just obsessed with all scents! I really believe a good fragrance can be mood boosting and motivational, and also can be associated with memories, confidence, and happiness.

For instance in the springtime my home will be always have fresh tulips or hydrangeas and floral scented candles, while I’ll be wearing a sweet floral perfume. In the summer I prefer crisp & clean scents such as linen, citrus, and androgynes scents. In the fall/winter I love a woodsy candle, spiced wreaths for decor, and a fragrance that is equal parts warm and sweet.

I’m always on the lookout for trying a new scent (I believe you need more than one perfume for every occasion) and have an everlong list of ones I would like to purchase. One particular fragrance that has held a spot on said list for quite awhile is Yves St Laurentย Black Opium. I’ve read multiple articles naming this scent as a “must have” and have even found perfume swatches in magazines that I derived every last drop from. Yet somehow every time I walked into a department or beauty store left with a prettily wrapped bottle from a different brand.


Well finally I got my hands on Black Opium! Here’s my review.

First Impression.
I was filled with pure joy when I found this package waiting on my doorstep! Can we just talk about how beautiful that bottle is for a second? Major points won. I was also pleased to notice that this product has a nice amount of fragrance in it making it cost effective(ish).


What They Say.
“Black Opium is the new highly addictive feminine fragrance from Yves Saint Laurent. Fascinating and seductively intoxicating, the opening notes of adrenaline-rich coffee and the sweet sensuality of vanilla recline into the softness of white flowers for a modern, young, and vibrant interpretation of addiction. Get your dose.

Notes:
Coffee Accord, Orange Blossom, Cedarwood Essence, Patchouli Essense.
Style:
Addictive. Floral. Energetic.”


What I Think.
Addictive it is! When you first apply this scent you immediately notice its mix of sweet vanilla and deep, rich coffee. Throughout the day I noticed a playful back-and-forth between sweet and sensual. One moment I’d feel girly and the next like a complete badass, I couldn’t get enough! I’m also happy to report this fragrance is long lasting! It kept with me from my 8 AM work day to my last client at 10PM for school without having to reapply.

The Downside.
Really this is a well thought out perfume. The only warning I’d give for you to consider is to not apply too heavy handed as it is a powerful scent. That being said if you are super sensitive to fragrances I’d try it in store before purchasing.

But for your average gal looking for something new… perfect!

 

What fragrance have you tried lately & loved?
Leave it in the comments, I’d love to hear!

Xo, Miranda

 

13 Comments Add yours

  1. ohthecrownshewears says:

    Thanks for the review!! I’ll have to check it out. AML

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Its amazing you won’t regret it! Thanks for stopping by๐Ÿ’•

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Lauren says:

    I’ve gotten a bunch of random samples of this stuff and it’s my absolute favorite!! I need to just man up and buy the full size. It’s the best smelling fragrance I know of. haha
    Thanks for the push I needed to go buy it! ๐Ÿ™‚

    xox Lo
    http://www.beautybylo.com

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hahah I totally agree girl!! I put off getting it for awhile too but just kept going back to it and I don’t regret it a bit! โค

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I love the bottle my perfumaholic Friend! The scent sounds really lovely with vanilla and rich coffee. I have not got out lately to try something new but hope to in near future, Have a great weekend Miranda, Hugs, Terri.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks sweetie! I just love perfumes hahah but this one is especially memorable! Try it out at a local department store!

      Liked by 1 person

  4. bellainizio says:

    My FAVE perfume! ๐Ÿ˜ Fab review, keep it up! X

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you it really is great! & thanks for stopping by๐Ÿ˜Š

      Like

  5. bellainizio says:

    My FAVE perfume ๐Ÿ˜ Fab review, keep it up! X

    Like

  6. I absolute love this scent, I need to get my hands on it! Thank you for the review ๐Ÿ™‚ have you ever tried Gucci Premiere? I got it as a gift a while ago and I’ve been obsessed ever since!! Xxx

    Liked by 1 person

    1. That’s the best kind of gift haha I don’t think I’ve actually tried any Gucci ones yet!! It must be time to try! What’s it like?

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I know right! It’s definitely one that grows on you over time rather than instantly liking it. I just googled it and it said it’s woody/musky but I’m not so sure as I love Black Opium but that apparently has coffee as a top note so who knows?! It’s definitely a ‘heavy’ one I guess!

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Hahah I tend to gravitate towards heavy woody scents so it sounds perfect lol!!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

