Healthy You: Pumpkin Spice Swap-Outs

psl-700x525

It’s September, and I don’t know about you, but I’ve been seriously craving some spiced drink deliciousness. All of the major chains have released their PSL’s and Chai lattes & I’ll admit I certainly have had my one (or two). Here’s the thing though, will all of the added fat and sugar, these drinks are far from something you’d want to drink every day. This article scared me straight last year.

But your pumpkin and/or spiced drink doesn’t have to be bad! Pumpkin (canned, with no added sugars) contains 3 grams of protein, 7 grams of fiber, and very little natural fat and sugar and is only 80 calories a cup. It also is loaded with vitamins and minerals.

Oh and spice? Very nice! Cinnamon can lower blood sugar, reduce your risk for heart disease,has been linked to weight loss, and is full of antioxidants.

So you should FULLY indulge in your pumpkin spiced deliciousness.
Just be wary, did you know a medium iced pumpkin spice coffee from Dunkin is 180 calories, 41g carb, 38g sugar? And that’s the best of the PSL bunch!

I’ve created some healthy pumpkin and spice swaps. Check them out!


Instead of Dunkin Donuts medium iced pumpkin spice coffee try my pumpkin spice coffee with only 30 calories, 5.5 g carb and 3g sugar. All you need to do is mix your iced coffee with 1 tbsp french vanilla creamer (I used coffee mate) 1/4 c almond milk, and 1 tsp pumpkin spice seasoning.

e840469c7cfab3a1_healthy-homemade-pumpkin-spice-latte

Instead of Starbucks Pumpkin Spice Latte try This slimmed-down version by Popsugar.

And instead of ordering a Vanilla Chai Latte try my healthy at-home version.

14052317_609551402539106_2050041089_n1

You need:
3/4 c unsweetened vanilla almond milk
1/4 c whole milk
1/2 tsp vanilla extract
1 tbsp vanilla creamer
french vanilla chai tea (just your average bag formula)
1 tsp cinnamon

  1. Add milk, almond milk, creamer, and vanilla extract to a pot. Boil over stove top until frothy.
  2. Add chai tea bag and steep for 3-5 minutes.
  3. Mix in cinnamon. Serve and top with additional cinnamon if desired

*If you aren’t at home or don’t have time, you can microwave all ingredients in step on for 1-1 and a half minutes checking to make sure it doesn’t boil over for the last 30 seconds*

That’s all for now my loves,
Happy sipping 🙂
Xo, Miranda<3

5 Comments Add yours

  1. Gotta love the autumnal drinks! 🍁☕️

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Thank you for this healthy recipe Miranda, I will try it out !, Huggs, Terri.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks dear! They’re all so yummy! Have a great weekend:):)

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I love healthier alternatives to my favorite fall drinks– so I will definitely have to try this one!!!
    Check out my latest baking post at https://courtneylivin.wordpress.com/2016/11/07/baking-for-days/

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you dear, I will check it out right now:)

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

