Product Review: Earth Kiss Moroccan Clay Pore Refine Mud Mask

Happy Humpday everyone! I have the day off and have been SUPER productive. Got up around 8 am, went to the gym and ran for 34 minutes with a one minute break halfway through. Let me tell you: I’m halfway through a running challenge that teaches you to run 30 minutes straight… I am NOT a runner, never ever, but I’m doing it! So proud 🙂

Today I also made zucchini chips, cleaned a ton, and managed to write two posts before 2 pm! Wohoo. Gotta love days off. As for my next post? Let’s just say it’s a How-To-Tuesday that involves Essential Oils and I am very excited.

For today though I have a product review. Wanna here a funny story? Me and Elly have been eating “clean” lately and training, so after a long run/workout yesterday I forced him to drive 30 minutes to go to Whole Foods for their salad bar (the best around). We filled our cardboard boxes to the brim & went to check out and our two salads came to $36!! He’ll never let me forget it. But you know what I also got? Earth Kiss Moroccan Clay Pore Refine Mud Mask!

I’m a sucker for mud masks. I just love the cooling feeling when you put them on and the clean feeling when you take them off.

Before: horribly unflattering photo.  Also zero makeup as I had my gym day today.

About
The fruit, plant & herb ingredients in this 100% natural face mask are energised with the 85 micronutrients found in the shilajit. Together they create a sense of balanced energy for optimal health and vitality of skin, body, and soul.

Ingredients
aqua (purified water), kaolin (natural clay), illite (natural clay), bentonite (natural clay), moroccan lava clay (rhassoul clay), pumice, glycerin (plant origin), glucose,glyceryl caprylate (plant origin), maris sal (dead sea salt), xanthan gum (natural thickener), prunus armeniaca (apricot) seed powder, aloe barbadensis (aloe vera) leaf juice, sodium anisate (plant origin), sodium levulinate (plant origin), citric acid (plant origin), cinnamomum zeylanicum (cinnamon) leaf oil, eugenol, asphaltum punjabinum (shilajit) powder, sclerocarya birrea (marula) seed oil, argania spinosa (argan) shell powder, emblica officinalis fruit powder, terminalia bellerica fruit powder, terminalia chebula fruit powder, gamma-decalactone, vanillin, isoamyl acetate, ethyl butyrate, potassium iodide, sodium chloride, potassium thiocyanate, citrus aurantium dulcis (orange) peel oil, lactoperoxidase (milk origin), glucose oxidase (sugar origin).

Instructions
Massage gently. Escape for 15-20 minutes. Rinse off.

What it smells like
Fresh & fruity, with an earthy undertone. Very pleasant. Makes me feel like I’m somewhere tropical, or at an expensive spa.

How it feels
The instructions don’t mention whether to apply to wet or dry skin, so I rinse with a bit of water & apply to damp skin (happy compromise?) When I start to apply it I am surprised to find it has an almost grainy texture (not just smooth clay), but it feels nice. I massage it in in circles & begin to feel the cooling sensation of clay when air hits it. As the mask begins to dry, it becomes a bit tight. Nothing terrible but by the end it is mildly uncomfortable. I mention this for all of you sensitive skin readers. Maybe patch test first before applying to your whole face. You’ll know when the time to rinse off is because the mask goes from a dark greige to tan.

The removal.
Nothing bothers me more than a mask that is difficult to get off. This mask came off relatively easy, with no excessive scrubbing needed. I would recommend using a wash cloth to remove, as it does take a few minutes to really clean it off. There is no tacky, sticky, or any other annoying feeling product left after you rinse off. It does not flake and/or peel all over. Very easy.

First photo: wet, just applied. Second photo: dry, ready to come off

The end result.
After I removed the mask my skin no longer felt tight/itchy. Most importantly, my skin looked flawless, it has almost a “blurring” factor to it. Huge improvement. I did also notice a reduction in pore size (though, mine aren’t very large to begin with). Afterward my makeup went on incredibly smoothly and looked great.. always a bonus!

After: smooth,  clean skin. Disclaimer:I took off the Patriot shirt. I don’t watch football at all by my step-dad is a huge fan and got me a shirt. I don’t have a favorite team.

Would I recommend?
Well that depends. I liked this product enough to use both mine and my fiances. I also have combination skin. If you are very sensitive or dry I would certainly recommend trying it on a small portion of your face before applying all over. I would imagine this might be too drying for some. That being said, I loved it for myself! It has everything I love in a mud mask: it is cooling & exfoliating, easy to use & remove, it smelled good, and it WORKED! I also loved that this product is all natural, vegetarian, and cruelty free.

 

That’s all for now loves,
Have a great day!
Xo, Miranda<3

One Comment Add yours

  1. Hi Miranda, you busy girl you! Wow well done on the working out , it is not easy if you are not a runner so be proud of your efforts. I guess the salad did get a little expensive but it is healthy eating. The face mask looks like a great product to try , I need to fill in a lot of pores I have, the after pics look great on you! Although you do have a nice complexion to start off with . Have a great weekend Miranda, Huggs, Terri.

    Like

Leave a Reply

