Healthy You:Be In The Moment

I’ve been away for a few reasons. I already mentioned that my computer is on its way out.. it’s only a matter of time and sometimes it just wont start for me. Another reason is that I have found myself caught up on reading the novel “Me Before You” which was highly recommended by Ellys grandmother and I am currently loving, every spare moment has been dedicated to it. On a side note, I’m thinking of adding a book review segment to my blog so be on the look out as I’m a huge book worm.

But I digress. The last reason I haven’t been around as much is I have been so overwhelmed with big life choices. I took a year off collage when I was 19 and never made it back and due to school loans couldn’t return until they were repaid. Now, at 25, I’m ready to go, but I have to choose between picking a “practical” major or go for sales or cosmetology. I also have to base that decision on whether to start a new job with later hours. On top of that I’ve been starting wedding planning, financing a car, and a few other things.

I needed a time out. I needed a chance to clear my head. When you have too much going on it’s easy to go into auto pilot and just go through the motions while your mind is occupied. But what’s the fun in that? Which is why I love this post because it is SO important to have “you time” and to be present in the moment. Letting stress get to you puts you on autopilot.. I want you to live, girl, LIVE.

Here are some tips to stay present and focused every and every moment of your day.
large (1)

While Eating:
When you’re eating its important not to multi task. Clean out a space to eat at your table and really enjoy what your senses are picking up, the smell, taste, look. Focus on each individual note while you eat. Another trick is to eat something that occupies your hands, such as pistachios (in the shell) that need to be cracked open or an orange which needs to be peeled. And never ever EVER eat in front of the T.V, while on your phone, or driving… should you find you’ve devoured everything (and more) without even remembering.
large (2)

While breathing:
Believe it or not breathing isn’t easy. Okay, your body does it naturally, but really breathing takes focus. A very easy way to breathe better: simply observe your inhalations and exhalations.. now I don’t mean every breath of every day needs to be accounted for but take 5 minutes to focus on the motions. Focus on the sound, how you feel, weather you’re breathing from your mouth or your abdomen. Easy
large (4).jpg

While doing a common activity:
Use your non dominant hand. Think about it: when your doing something simple, something you do every day like washing your face (hopefully) or chores you kinda just go through the motions. Try using your non dominant hand and your brain has to focus more, you really notice what your doing.
large (5)

When with your pet:
They’re your best friend, maybe sometimes you take their presence for granted? Spend a few minutes of quality time with your pet daily. Do an activity they like like fetch, or drag that little mouse-on-a-string around the living room for fluffy. Something as simple as running your fingers through their fur (petting them) can help you tune in and let go of any added stress of the day.

 

Moral of the story is it’s important to really be there when you’re doing something.

Take care loves<3
Xo, Miranda.

5 Comments Add yours

  1. Angel says:

    Aw i love this post x

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much! Enjoy your day 🙂

      Like

  2. Yes. I agree. You’d be surprise as to what you see when you actually stop. I’m tickled you liked my post to share.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Also I like the idea about book reviews.Cheers M.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

