Monday Night Musings

image

Today I have been seriously been feeling blah. I know I have no reason to complain given that I have tomorrow off and am just coming home from my Valentine’s retreat but for some reason today I just can’t shake that “down” feeling. Ever get that way?
image

Well I’m never one to dwell on a negative thing so I’ve been trying my best to move forward. I’m doing so by plannng a hardcore gym session tomorrow, doing my nails accompanied by some pinot, and reading my cooking magazines while writing down my favorite tips. This may sound crazy but i LOVE healthy cooking magazines, and while i have subscriptions to many beauty ones i always turn to my foodie mags to cheer me up. Also, I’m ordering Chinese food. And if you don’t blog about it, did it even really happen?

Here’s what I’ve learned from Rachael Ray today.

image

1. Pineapple, my favorite fruit, is juciest
In the spring. You should pick pineapples that are firm, that’s how you know they’re ripe. They should also smell sweet and floral, yum. Store them for 3 days out, 5 days in the fridge, or cut them and store in an air tight container for 4 days in the fridge. You want to cut as little rind off as possible, as the fruit is sweetest there. Follow the contours of the fruit and savour the fruit closest to the outside.

image

A. Pineapple down under burger: on a toasted bun, layer a cooked burger with a slice of pickled beet, a grilled pineapple ring, and a sunny side up egg.

image

B. Fruity pork skewers: thread small chunks of pork tenderloin and pineapple on water-soaked bamboo skewers. Brush with Hoisin sauce; grill until meat is cooked through.

image

C. Piña colada slushie: in a blender, puree cut fresh pineapple, coconut milk, ice,and rum. Top with a maraschino cherry.
image

2. Chinese food. My dinner. If you read my hard learned lessons in dieting post, you know I’m big on picking out healthy options prior to ordering. Here’s Rachaels suggestions.

image

A. Beware of crispy bites when choosing your appetizer. Egg rolls, dumplings, crab Rangoon -anything that hits the fryer and all its fatty oil- are always worse than their steamed counterparts.

image

B. Your best bet when choosing an appetizer is a steamed dumpling. Each weighs in at around 40 calories, and contain good vegetables,

image

A.Beware of soups that contain crispy noodles,which often have over 200 calories per cup.

image

B. Your best bet for soup: the classics! Wonton, hot and sour, miso, clear, egg drop. All are good choices.
image

A. Beware of main dishes that are fried then sauced. A “double no”  one plate of general tso’s can contain over 1300 calories, crispy orange beef: 1500!
image

B. Your best bet is anything low calorie seafood (as long as its not fried).
image

A.Beware of oil packed sides like lo mein or fried rice, each cup can contain 165 calories.

image

B. Your best bet would be an order of steamed veggies, they will fill you up, and with duck sauce only round up to 40 calories.

Leave a Reply

